Close

Homepage Forums Support From Our Forum Community OCD & Intrusive Thoughts Hi everybody -Would love some advice (relationship OCD)

• This topic has 1 reply, 2 voices, and was last updated 1 year ago by Forum Moderators.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    bella10
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the forum’s so I thought I’d explain abit about my ocd/intrusive thoughts. There all harm and relationship based, I’m 19 and it’s all fairly new to me so I’m still learning with how to handle it in a more healthier way. ☺️

I’ve been off work at my current job for 7 months now due to my ocd where I’ve been extremely poorly, my intrusive harm thoughts got so bad I couldn’t get out of bed let alone work. But now I’m feeling in a much better way in terms of tackling and challenging the ocd……. However I’ve recently been offered a new job role which is a HR apprenticeship in my local town, I’m set to begin on the 30th of May (so next Monday) and my ocd is getting really bad again ☹️

There’s a guy (I’d say he’s about 25) and automatically my ocd was convincing me ‘ Your going to fancy him’ ‘you’ll be disrespectful to your partner if you have a crush on him…. What if you fall in love with him? Your a horrible person’ all the horrible intrusive thoughts going round and round ☹️ I love my boyfriend dearly (we’ve been together for 2 years) so the idea of my thoughts jeopardising that would break my heart and cause me so much guilt and distress.

I just wanted to ask if anybody else has experienced this at all? In terms of ocd getting involved in relationships, making you think you’ll like somebody else in a romantic way and convince you it’s cheating on your partner ☹️ I really want to take up this amazing career opportunity, I’m just so scared my ocd will get in the way as I want to have a healthy balance of mental health and work xx

(I’d be grateful for any advice on the situation, thank you to everybody again.)

Forum Moderators

Hi: